Home » Uncategorized » About Me

About Me

20160930_234836

I received my Ph.D. in Sociology from Virginia Tech in 2011. My research focuses on school violence, ranging from bullying to mass violence, as well as sexual assault and intimate partner violence among college students. My work has been published in journals such as Violence Against Women, Journal of Crime and Justice, Journal of School Violence, and Addictive Behaviors. 

My current research projects focus on school shootings in cross-national contexts, including police and civilian active shooter training, drills, and responses. In addition, I examine bullying, sexual assault, and dating violence in educational contexts including victimization among lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) college students, and the association between victimization and drug use.

To examine school shootings and mass murder more generally, I am currently working to employ data visualization techniques to examine perpetrators’ tweets, manifestos, and other writings, building on a database of attempted and completed school-based mass murder incidents that I received grant funding to compile. This research will inform threat assessment protocols at schools and universities, as well as police training.

My teaching interests include School Violence; Violent Crime; Violence Prevention; Research Methods; Data Analysis; Gender and Crime; Victimology; Quantitative Research Design; and Corrections.

